Cherry tomato, basil and balsamic glazed bruschetta recipe

I mentioned earlier that I’m a summer lover and one of the reasons are for the fresh, local, seasonal foods. But today, I had an extra special treat! The cherry tomato plant I had been caring for and watching grow over the last few weeks finally had some cherry tomatoes ripe enough for me to harvest and enjoy!  I by no means have a farm or restaurant, but I bet the excitement that comes from eating these cherry tomatoes is similar to the excitement that a farm-to-table restaurant brings to its customers!

Check out these beauties!

They were so perfectly sweet and juicy.  To keep the integrity of their flavour, I decided to use them to make something super simple: a cherry tomato, basil, and balsamic glazed bruschetta. Yum!  And the basil came courtesy of the mixed herb potted plant that I also have in my mini garden.

Cherry tomato, basil and balsamic glazed bruschetta

Ingredients

8 cherry tomatoes cut into quarters
1 tbsp of olive oil
1/4 tsp of pepper
1/4 tsp of salt
1/4 tsp of garlic power
1 tbsp of chiffonade basil leaves to sprinkle on top
1 tbsp of balsamic glaze
1 slice of your favourite bread, toasted (I used rye)

Directions

In a bowl, toss together your cherry tomatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic power.
Add the cherry tomato mixture on top of your toasted bread.
Sprinkle your basil on top of the tomatoes.
Drizzle the balsamic glaze over the tomatoes.

 

Eat and enjoy!

There are many health benefits to adding tomatoes to your diet. Aside from being delicious, they are an excellent source of vitamin C and other antioxidants.  Tomatoes can help combat the formation of free radicals known to cause (prostate and colorectal) cancer. It’s known to improve eye and heart health, ease constipation, and much more. You can read more about the nutritional benefits of tomatoes on Medical News Today and WebMD.

What is your favourite (cherry) tomato recipe? Is there a tomato recipe you think I need to try? Let me know in the comments below. Bon appetite!

2 thoughts on “Cherry tomato, basil and balsamic glazed bruschetta recipe”

Leave a Reply

