A day in “The Royal City” better known as Guelph

One of my girlfriends moved to Guelph in the last couple of years and I finally got an opportunity to visit her recently. She has been raving about how much she loves living Guelph and after having spent a day there, it’s easy to see why.

When I first stepped out of the car from my 60 minute drive, the first thing I noticed was that it was SO quiet and peaceful which was slightly puzzling because I was downtown?! It was very different to the hustle and bustle of downtown Toronto that I’m used to.

We started our visit with a short walk to the lake. Amazing! Just beyond these trees….

trees and field

 

…was the lake! At this point, I was still in disbelief that this was their “downtown”.

There were a lot of good food places that my friend recommended but we decided to go with Baker Street Station restaurant. I found the menu interesting as it offered some unique items that really appealed to me and the food definitely did not disappoint!
It was a gorgeous sunny day so we got a nice seat on the patio and started with the beer battered brie cheese from the special menu.

One of my friends ordered the crispy chicken sandwich also from the special menu. My other friend ordered the spicy pork bulgogi and I ordered the duck pappardelle. I was quite excited as I rarely see duck on a menu! These items were from the regular menu but they were far from regular. The duck was cooked well, the pappardelle pasta was perfectly al dente and the sauce was nice and creamy. The food was great! If you’re in Guelph I would highly recommend checking out Baker Street Station restaurant.

 

We were so stuffed that we had no room left for dessert. Surprising, because I personally always have room for dessert!  So instead, we decided to walk off the food with a bit of shopping. A bit of shopping turned into a lot of shopping. They had so many cute stores, many of which support local businesses, which made it hard to resist.


I had such a relaxing girls’ day trip. I feel like you can’t go wrong spending time with good company, eating good food and having a friend show you around a city that she loves. Next time I visit Guelph I’ll have to go canoeing in the river 😊 Have you been to Guelph? Tell me what you like about the city in the comments!

4 thoughts on “A day in “The Royal City” better known as Guelph”

    1. Thanks Jordan! It was a fun filled day indeed. If you make your way there, I hope you have as much fun as I did 🙂 I had a lovely time and the people were so friendly!

      Like

Leave a Reply

